CERAWeek 2010: "The morning after" says Yergin.

CERAWeek, a sort-of Super Bowl of energy conferences, is approaching on March 8 to 12, with this year’s theme “Building the New Future.”
“It’s now the morning after for the energy world,” said IHS CERA Chairman Daniel Yergin. “The economic black cloud of the Great Recession has begun to lift and now it is possible to begin to identify the changes to the energy landscape. CERAWeek 2010 will provide participants with the perspectives to understand what may be ahead in the new energy future.”
This will be the first year for the conference at the Hilton Americas Hotel in downtown Houston (versus the Westin Galleria).
It’s also a full month later than year’s past. That could be to avoid scheduling conflicts with NAPE on Feb. 10, 11 and 12, which is now featuring an E&P forum sponsored by CERA parent company IHS.
The Chronicle energy reporters always cover the event (along with just about every other energy reporter in the U.S.), and will blog regularly throughout.
According to the release, key themes include:

• Demand: Has the “Great Recession” caused a fundamental shift in energy demand?

• Future Investment in the Industry: What will be the short-term and long-term impacts of the economic slowdown on the energy industry?

• Economics: What is the future of the global economy?

• Future Fuel Mix: How will climate change, the economy, new technologies and new supply impact interfuel competition and technology choice?

• Climate Change: How will climate change legislation affect future investment and prices around the globe?

• Geopolitics: How will geopolitical forces impact energy prices and investment decisions?

• Company Strategy: In the midst of such political and economic uncertainty, which strategies are the most resilient to future shocks?

• Game Changers: What innovations will be the game changers in the new energy future? The electric car? Unconventional natural gas?

Speakers include:

• Khalid Al-Falih, President and Chief Executive Officer, Saudi Arabian Oil Company

• José Sergio Gabrielli de Azevedo, Chief Executive Officer, Petrobras

• Tan Sri Hassan Marican,Chief Executive Officer, Petronas

• James J. Mulva, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ConocoPhillips

• Ken Rogoff, Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Public Policy, Harvard

• Hamad Rashid Al-Mohannadi, Chief Executive Officer, RasGas

• Andy Inglis, Chief Executive, Exploration and Production, BP

• Bill Klesse, Chief Executive Officer, Valero

• Jean-Jacques Mosconi, Vice President, Strategic Planning for the Group, TOTAL

• Michael Yeager, Chief Executive Officer, Petroleum, BHP Billiton

• Brandon Bethards, Chief Executive Officer, Babcock & Wilcox

• Philippe Boisseau, President of Gas and Power, TOTAL

• Jean-François Cirelli, Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer, GDF SUEZ

• Theodore F. Craver Jr., Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Edison International

• Chad Deaton, Chief Executive Officer, Baker Hughes

• Greg Ebel, Chief Executive Officer, Spectra Energy

• Alexander Medvedev, Deputy Chairman of Gazprom and General Director of Gazprom Export

• Mike Morris, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, American Electric Power

• Richard Newell, Administrator, Energy Information Administration

• David Ratcliffe, Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Southern Company

• Nobuo Tanaka, Executive Director, International Energy Agency

• Tom Walters, President Gas and Power Marketing, ExxonMobil

• John Woolard, President and Chief Executive Officer, Brightsource

There will also be a Special Economic Forum hosted by Yergin before the regular conference featuring:

• Nariman Behravesh, Chief Economist, IHS Inc.

• Ken Rogoff from Harvard University