Anadarko names CEO chairman of the board

Al Walker, president and CEO of Anadarko Petroleum Corp., will become chairman of the board in mid-May.

Walker, 56, will succeed James T. Hackett, who will serve as executive chairman through the company’s 2013 annual stockholders meeting and retire from Anadarko in June. Hackett served as CEO for eight years before Walker took the helm.

Walker will continue to serve as president and CEO, positions he has held since May.

“The board has confidence that Al will be an effective chairman and lead the company in its commitment to achieving sustainable, long-term success for our stakeholders,” Hackett said in a statement.

Walker expressed thanks for the board’s confidence.

“Anadarko’s established culture, talented employees, deep portfolio and strong management team have positioned the company to continue delivering differentiating success for years to come,” he said.


About The Author

Jeannie Kever joined the Houston Chronicle's energy team in September 2012. A native of West Texas, she has been at the Houston Chronicle since 1997, working in the features department for 10 years before moving to the city desk, where she reported on higher education, the 2010 Census and health care before moving to the business desk. She previously worked at the Sarasota (Florida) Herald-Tribune, the San Antonio Light, the Longview (Washington) Daily News, the El Paso Times and the San Angelo Standard Times.